The Book List – 1006.5

Last year I decided I wanted to get serious about reading again and committed to reading 50 books in one year. When I was younger, I would absolutely devour books, but once I started university, the studying (and beer drinking) really cut into my reading time. I decided to keep a list of the books I read, and track passages and excerpts that I really appreciated. At the end of the year, I was pretty proud to have read 51 books and three graphic novels.

This year, I initially set my goal to read 60 books, but based on the pace I’ve set this year (and the extra reading I have time for during the summer), I actually think it will be closer to 100 books, which seems insane. One of the books I read at the beginning of the year was Stephen King’s autobiography On Writing, in which he said he typically reads 90 books a year. I thought he was nuts. In hindsight, I guess it’s just about choosing to make time to read. I’ve never watched so little television, and it helps that a lot of my friends move away during the summer. I have a lot of time to read during the week right now in between class and work.

So without further ado, here’s the first half of 2013.The list is up to date as of June 1. Halfway through 2013. Get it? 2013/2 = 1006.5.

My favourite titles are bolded and I can’t say enough good things about them.

  1. The Maze Runner – James Dasher
  2. The Scorch Trials- James Dasher
  3. The Death Cure- James Dasher
  4. The Kill Order- James Dasher
  5. The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud – Ben Sherwood
  6. Every Day – David Levithan
  7. Moon walking with Einstein – Joshua Foer
  8. American Gods – Neil Gaiman
  9. Prodigy – Marie Lu
  10. On Writing – Stephen King
  11. Pure – Julianna Baggot
  12. Fuse – Julianna Baggot
  13. 11/22/63 – Stephen King
  14. The Age of Miracles – Karen Thompson Walker
  15. For Darkness Shows the Stars – Diana Peterfreund
  16. Breaking Point – Kristin Simmons
  17. Under the Never Sky – Veronica Rossi
  18. Through the Ever NightVeronica Rossi
  19. Shatter Me – Tahereh Mafi
  20. The Five People You Meet in Heaven – Mitch Albom
  21. Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi
  22. Partials – Dan Wells
  23. Fragments – Dan Wells
  24. Matched – Allie Condie
  25. Crossed – Allie Condie
  26. Reached – Allie Condie
  27. The Host – Stephanie Meyer
  28. Everything’s Perfect When You’re a Liar – Kelly Oxford
  29. Gone – Michael Grant
  30. Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
  31. How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia – Mohsin Hamid
  32. Eleanor and Park – Rainbow Rowell
  33. Taken – Erin Bowman
  34. From Ashes – Molly McAdams
  35. Losing It – Cora Carmack
  36. The Liar, the Bitch, and the Wardrobe – Allie Kingsley
  37. All the Single Ladies – Jane Costello
  38. Mercury in Retrograde – Paula Froelich
  39. Taking Chances – Molly McAdams
  40. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K. Rowling
  41. The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde
  42. Gabriel’s Inferno – Sylvain Reynard
  43. Attachments – Rainbow Rowell
  44. Cinder – Marissa Meyer
  45. Scarlet – Marissa Meyer
  46. Faking It – Cora Carmack
  47. Delirium – Lauren Oliver
  48. Pandemonium – Lauren Oliver
  49. Requiem – Lauren Oliver

Looking back on this list is really helpful. Obviously it is dominated by teen fiction. My hope for the rest of the year is to get some nonfiction on this list, and some contemporary and classic fiction as well.

2 comments

  1. […] the author of one of favourite books of this year (Eleanor & Park) tweeted me back. And then FAVOURITED my *witty* […]

  2. […] it starts with my love affair of Cinder, which was one of my favourite reads of 2013 (so was Scarlet, the […]

Leave a Reply

